Cade’s Cove visit at sunset…

Cade's Cove at Sunset 03/07/09

We spent the evening Saturday night looking for animals in Cade’s Cove.  This first photo is just as the sun was setting in the Cove.  We noticed quite a few animals.  The minute we drove into the Cove, a turkey walked across the road in front of us.  It almost seemed like the animals were waiting for their cues.  There were so many, and they were so active.  I can say from experience now, the best time to see animals in the area is sunset (or I’ve also been told sunrise.) 

One of the many deer we saw

I didn’t even notice the moon in this shot until I got home.  This is really grainy, because it was quite dark when I took this photo.  You can see this one was right next to the fence. 

Caught in the headlights! A coyote in the Cove.

This little fella was trying to sneak through the weeds to catch one of the deer we had been photographing when we beamed him with our headlights.  This was the second coyote we saw.  The first one was laying low a few hundred yards from about a half dozen deer. 2 or 3 of the deer didn’t move a muscle and stared at the coyote for a good 10-15 minutes.  They were clearly looking out for the younger deer.  My wife wanted to hurry up and leave so that OUR younger ones wouldn’t get to see a National Geographic killing live and in person.  I wanted to stay, but of course, I didn’t win that one:)

We plan to spend most of the day tomorrow (Monday) in the park.  I’ll try to take plenty of photos and post some here when I get back.

-Raymond

Leave a Reply

