Catch a trolley to see the fireflies work their light magic in the Smokies

 

I don’t know if the above video is actually from Elkmont.  From reading online, there may be only 2 places where the fireflies sync like this.  Somewhere in Asia and Elkmont.  I don’t know where this video was shot, but it shows you what they look like in sync:)

This has been a VERY popular story, since I posted the original a few days ago. I thought I’d post this update. If you are in the area, beginning tomorrow night, you can catch a trolley from the Sugarland’s Visitors Center every night from 6-11PM to see the light show the fireflies at Elkmont put on. They only perform for a week or two, so the trolley rides will take place from June 6th-14th. Only $1 per person round-trip. I REALLY wish we could make it up there (the sad news is, I have next week off, but no extra cash for a trip out of town:( If YOU get a chance to go, please shoot a few photos and email them, or better yet, shoot some video and send it to me. I’m sure my readers would love to see those.

http://www.citizen-times.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20090604/NEWS01/90604067/1119

Raymond

******Please help me by visiting my sponsor, http://www.smokiesrentdirect.com. You can stay where we stay in the mountains, at “The Mountain Tower.” It is located between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. The Tower has a fantastic view of Mt. Leconte and Ober Gatlinburg. You’ll love it!******

2 responses to “Catch a trolley to see the fireflies work their light magic in the Smokies

  1. Pingback: Synchronized fireflies in Elkmont area of the Great Smoky Mountains « GoSmoky.com

  2. Julie & Brian Russell

    Synchronized fireflies in Elkmont is one of the most awesome shows of nature. I would advise you to be prepared with chairs & blankets. As well as some snacks. Cant wait to bring another generation of our family to see the show….

Leave a Reply

