Smoky Mountains gearing up for fall… I can’t wait!

pigeonforgeoverlook

 

This is one of my personal favorite times of the year in the mountains (ok, I’ll be honest, I love it up there pretty much anytime, but the color of the mountains does make it that much more special.:) Since I live in Charleston, I’m just a few minutes away from the ocean.  I actually work at a T.V. station that is literally on Charleston harbor.  I get to see the full harbor and the ocean each morning as I drive in to work.  I’m very fortunate.  This year, I’ve made more of an effort to spend time at the beach.  Whether walking for a few minutes at lunchtime or just after work, or taking the whole family for several hours in the sun.  I’ve been enjoying the summer.  But now that fall is here, there are so many things we do that I can’t wait to enjoy.  We go to a local pumpkin patch and pick out a pumpkin for the girls.  We also walk through the corn maze.  The Coastal Carolina Fair will be here at the end of October.  That’s a tradition I’ve been enjoying since I was a kid.  As soon as it gets cold, I’ll probably attend an oyster roast of some sort.  As much as I’m not an oyster-aholic, there is something special about standing around a couple of trashcans with plywood on top loaded down with steaming oysters that’s just plain fun.  Hopefully I’ll be enjoying that in the near future.  Then there’s the hayrides.  We usually go to my old church on Halloween night, where some of the men from the church have a hayride for the kids set up.  My kids love that so much, we rarely go trick or treating.  Then of course, there is FALL IN THE MOUNTAINS.  The fall displays will be in place (probably already are,) mountain music and brisk, coolness will be in the air.  The hike to Clingman’s Dome will be a cold one.  Then Dollywood will be decorated to the nines, and Southern Gospel music will fill the air as crafters work their magic throughout the park.  I can’t wait to see the mountains in the fall.  Tom from Pigeon Forge sent me a press release of some of the things planned for this time of year.  See the release below…  As for my family and I, we’re planning a long weekend in the Smokies for next weekend.  I’ll fill you in with more details about our plans soon.  Fall is a great time of year to see the Smokies.  Get out and JUST DO IT!

***We love staying at www.smokymountaintower.com when we’re in the Smokies.  Right between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, with great views at the top of the mountain, you will not be disappointed.***

 

Press release below (from Pigeon Forge)……

October Draws Craft Lovers to Pigeon Forge, Great Smoky Mountains

Two major crafts events highlight start of autumn leaf season

PIGEON FORGE, Tenn. (October 2009)—Scores of talented artists and craftsmen seem to take a cue from Mother Nature when the leaves start changing colors in the Great Smoky Mountains and appear in Pigeon Forge, Tenn., for two major autumn festivals.

Basket makers, carvers, painters and others are on hand for the Pigeon Forge Rotary Club Craft Festival and Dollywood’s National Gospel & Harvest Celebration.

+ The Pigeon Forge Rotary Club Crafts Festival (Oct. 1-30) is one of the region’s biggest crafts events, attracting almost 50 craftsmen, artists and exhibitors from more than a dozen states.  It takes place under a giant red and white tent at Patriot Park. Rotarians volunteer their time to run the festival, and proceeds benefit numerous charities.

+ Dollywood’s National Gospel & Harvest Festival (Oct. 2-31) complements the theme park’s regular operation with an array of traditional and contemporary craftsmen and adds scores of free gospel music concerts to the entertainment lineup. Among the featured crafts are spinning, weaving, sorghum making, fiddle making, rug hooking and woodworking.

Both events take place against the backdrop of Pigeon Forge’s Harvestfest season, which continues through Oct. 31.  

During Harvestfest, businesses throughout the city erect fanciful fall displays of hay bales, scarecrows, cornstalks, pumpkins, gourds, sunflowers, mums and other symbols of the season.

The Pigeon Forge Travel Planner and information about all aspects of the city are available online at MyPigeonForge.com or by calling toll-free to 1-800-251-9100. The travel planner includes the Pigeon Forge Value Card, which offers more than $300 worth of discounts.

Leave a Reply

