Headed to the Smoky Mountains…

smokyview

Ok, I’ll be on the road in about 4-5 hours, headed to the Smokies. As usual, I’m excited about the trip.  This time, we’re not staying at www.smokymountaintower.com .  The problem is, this was sort of a last minute trip.  With it being October, it was booked all but one weekend.  (While on the topic, Dave tells me he is offering 10-28% off the whole month of October [weekend of the 15th is still available] in www.smokymountaintower.com )

We’ll get up there tonight, and we’re staying until Sunday.  We’re trying to keep this trip wide open.  Sometimes I think we spend too much time doing “stuff” in the mountains.  We rarely get a day to just lounge around or do nothing at all.  The only things on the agenda this time are Dollywood (Friday) and a dinner theater show I’ve wanted to see for a couple of years, but so far have not had the chance to enjoy, The Smith Family Theater.  I plan to give a full report of the show here on the blog when I get back.  That’s scheduled for Thursday night.  Saturday is wide open, and all day Thursday is wide open.  We’ll probably either spend time in the mountains, at the house we’re staying in or in downtown Gatlinburg. 

There is a special “astronomy” night Saturday night at Cades Cove presented by the park and the Smoky Mountain Astronomical Society  http://www.smokymtnastro.org/.  I haven’t even mentioned that to my wife yet, but if the weather is good, I might suggest that Saturday. 

I can’t wait.  Of course, I’ll try to make sure to take a number of photos, and even some videos of the area to post here and on my gosmoky youtube page. 

 

Raymond

One response to “Headed to the Smoky Mountains…

  1. Hey if your interested in reading about living in the Smokies at the turn of the century you should read Horace Kephart. He wrote two books in the early 1900’s and one about living in Hazel Creek I think. You can order them in most any bookstore in western NC. At Western Carolina University they have a huge collection of his stuff.

Leave a Reply

